(231) 264-9274

Downtown Development Authority


The Elk Rapids Downtown Development Authority (DDA) is tasked with analyzing the impact of economic changes in the downtown district and developing plans in coordination with the Village Council and Planning Commission to promote orderly economic growth in the downtown development district. The most recent Downtown Development and Tax Increment Financing plans were adopted in 2011.

DDA Documents

2016 DDA 101 Presentation
2015 DDA Strategic Plan
2015 DDA Strategic Plan (with supporting materials)
2011 Restated Downtown Development Plan and Tax Increment Financing Plan

Link to Our Facebook Page

The DDA meets monthly on the second Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the Government Center (315 Bridge St., Elk Rapids, MI 49629).

Mark Wayne – Chair
Phone: 248-703-6286
E-mail: mwayne@waynecompanies.com

Gillian Cobb – Vice Chair
Phone: 517-648-6849
E-mail: gcobb@shortsbrewing.com

Carol Haley – Secretary
Phone: 810-569-0048
E-mail: haleyerdda@gmail.com

James Janisse – Village President
Phone:  231-313-7380
E-mail:  jjanisse@elkrapids.org

Sharon Fitzpatrick
Phone:  231-264-0333
E-mail:  sharon@fitzinsurance.com

Wes Knecht
Phone:  231-264-8033
E-mail:  cornerdrug@elkrapidsnet.com

Jim Witte
Phone:  616-291-1713
E-mail:  jim@thewgroup.com

Kathy Wittbrodt
Phone: 231-264-0546
E-mail: kathy@watersideproperties.net

Steve Thomas
Phone: 231-633-1107
E-mail: steve@thomasbuildingdesign.com

Additional Information and Documents
DDA Agenda and Minutes Archive
Meeting Calendar